No Pay Clients: On Purpose and By Accident.


As a small business owner I do billing follow up myself. I am going through this irksome process right now. My good nature got the better of me and prior to full payment I completed a campaign – due to time constraints and lead time. On top of that, I shared strategic ideas in hopes to further engage the client.

I keep asking for payment via overdue invoice notices, email, text and calls. Stay true and be persistent, is a repeating theme for Decent Luck and even more so as a bill collector.  I haven’t resorted to Twitter or Instagram for getting payment yet, and I stress, yet. Maybe that is the only way to be a DIY bill collector now-a-days? 2.0 anyone? Instagram an overdue invoice and post it on your wall? I’m kidding. Legal bills are not what I’m looking for.

While performing “2.0” bill collecting, I added a pro bono client. Why? Because the “best practices” flow chart does not jive with me sometimes.  I like the client’s service and it is something I personally enjoy doing in my free time (buying vinyl records). Let me add, I offered this free service on a karma basis.  How come no one ever adds “karma” to their business plan anyway?

In both instances, struggling to get payment and working pro-bono, I work for free. Some may say I’m getting fooled, especially after finishing a service prior to payment. But then doubly self-fooling my business by pro-bono-ing myself during the 2.0 billing-instagram efforts?  Foolish? Possibly, but I am happy I did.

With a good quarter century to my golden years, I have a lot to learn, a lot of work to do and a lot of people to help. Everything is a learning experience and I do not have all the answers, in other words, I like to learn (with all possible haste) sometimes.

Share this post or leave comments, don’t worry we’re all friends!

This entry was posted in learn, promotions, Small Business, Social Network, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Pay Clients: On Purpose and By Accident.

  1. Joe says:

    I like the ‘bill collector 2.0’ angle. Shaming someone on Instagram with a past due invoice is the waive of the future

Leave a Reply

